Wednesday, October 31, 2012

The Pleasures of Winter by Evie Hunter

The Pleasures of Winter by Evie Hunter
This an adult erotica/romance novel (NC-17)
(Five fluttering hearts)
Book Summary
The Pleasures of Winter is a steamy erotic story of romantic obsession and explosive sexual chemistry for fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and Bared to You.

When reporter Abbie Marshall needs to escape Honduras, a private jet carrying a Hollywood A-lister is her only way out. She has a ride home with Irish actor Jack Winter - notorious womanizer and all round bad boy. Abbie is shaken to the core by Winter's blazing beauty and provocative mind.

After the plane's nose-dive into the remote rainforest forces them to fight for survival, Abbie catches tantalizing glimpses of the complicated man behind the image. And the more she sees of him, the more he touches some primal part of her that she is determined to suppress. But after a devastating encounter with Winter's shadow side, Abbie's detachment is shattered.

On returning to normal life, Abbie cannot forget what happened, nor ignore the shocking rumours about the star's private life. Her struggle to make sense of her torment leads straight back to Winter, who is just as obsessed by her. But if they are to have a relationship, Abbie knows she must embrace his hidden desires ... and accept her own.

No longer caring about anything but their intoxicating love affair, Abbie is drawn deeper into the dark heart of Winter - and the secret that threatens to destroy everything ...

'Evie Hunter' is actually two Irish authors who discovered a mutual love of erotic fiction when doing a creative writing workshop two years ago. They are delighted the rest of the world has caught up with them. Before writing The Pleasures of Winter, their first full-length novel, they co-wrote a number of BDSM-themed novellas.
My Review
Is this book a long awaited reprieve for those that love Fifty Shades of Grey.  I’m going to say, YES.  And this is the first time I’m going to say it.  This book has all the flavors of fifty, yet this book stands on its own.  It’s not a recreation with different characters in slightly different roles.  This book is just different.  But the feel, is fifty.
The book has an original opening which was fantastic for me for some of the reads I had lately.  The story was fresh and when I thought the author was going left, she went right.  Great.  It wasn’t so much that the twists were new, but she didn’t always take the predicable route.  I loved that this book didn’t base “misunderstanding” as the basis of the relationship when it would have been easy to do so.  Well Done.
The characters and storyline were amazingly well written. I don’t say that often.  Just because I enjoy a book, doesn’t mean that I’m think how well written it is while reading.  This one I did.
The only drawback was the ending.  It felt a little rush and ending almost abruptly.  However, I didn’t feel cheated as far as the storyline.  I would love more Jack, but I think this book is a stand alone.  I also would have enjoyed more Kit and Kevin, but you can’t have it all.
Overall, this is a winner.  And, I’ve read three winners all in a row.  This is the first of them.
My book boyfriend, Jack.

View all my reviews

*Disclaimer - I am not the owner of this picture. I found it on the web for causal fun use on my blog for which I receive no compensation. If this picture belongs to you (you are the copyright owner) please let me know and I will remove it.

No comments:

Post a Comment