Thursday, November 8, 2012

The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson
This is an young adult romance novel (Rated PG-13)
(Four Favorite Hearts)

Book Summary

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life - and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey's boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie's own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they're the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can't collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie's struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

My Review
What a really good book.  I swear I had a streak of luck with good books one right after the other.
So why not five stars? 
Well because of the over use of metaphors to the point I thought I was going to choke on them.  Downing in a pool of overused stimuli that will somehow make it seem poetic. Yet the poetry was lost in a forest of words that were meaningless to the overall agenda that unfolded like a butterfly before the reader.  Uh yeah, too much.
Okay, the narrator may talk like that. And she did, in her inner and outer dialogue.  But all the characters and I mean all but Toby used metaphors in their normal speech.   Yeah, doubtful as far a believability.  And darn it every sentence.  Metaphors should be used to enhance the story not kill it.  There was a point when I almost stop reading because it was too much.  Somehow though, the story itself caught me.  There was no turning back.  I just had to hold back from hurling flowery words that weren’t necessary.
And the romance was just shy of being insta love.  But yet somehow I beleived it.
Should you read? Sure.  Not everyone will be bothered like I was.  It was a compelling and original romance which is hard to accomplish.  I did overall enjoy.
The storyline is a bit sad at times, but it was a journey worth the read.
Audio Review
Julia Whelan did a phenomenal job with the narration.  Each character had their own voice.  It really did enhance my enjoyment of the story. Amazing job.
My book boyfriend, Joe.


No comments:

Post a Comment